Good Luck Out There Lucia Martinez

Lucia Martinez

“Art is about making mistakes and the best part is fixing them.”

After four years, of perfect attendance at Hiram Johnson, Lucia Martinez is finally graduating this June. We bid her farewell and good luck. But what do we know about our graduating senior? Not much?

Lucia Martinez has been going to HJHS for four years; she was in junior rise for two and half semesters and is current member of Anime Club. This senior is very artistic. Her Art ranges from dogs to talking sharks.

Mr. Diaz, her advanced art teacher, said, “I saw her drawing in graphic design and I encouraged her to take advanced art. She took my advice and she has never let me down ever since.”

She started drawing when she was 3. She said she was inspired by her mother., “When I was small I would always see her construct flowers and figurines from tissues, it intrigued me. She also inspires me by the little creative things she does, like make turtles out of clay or dough.” Her advice to you, “Do not eat the turtles”.

“I like building and constructing things with my hands”, she said, as she was finishing one of her paintings. “I am not proud of one, but many, each piece has their own style and techniques, it’s so hard to choose they are each unique and one of a kind.”

She has many sketchbooks, one for random drawings, one for characters, another one is for painting and big projects.

She has built cities out of Legos and people out of clay. “I get bored”, she said “I am most creative when I am bored. You could never be tired of art because there is always something new to learn.”

She loves drawing dragons, “There is no exact form for a dragon, as long as it has teeth, feet, tail, and arms the rest is up to your imagination.”

Leave a comment